Keeping My New Year’s Resolutions

Happy New YearIt’s time to bring in 2013. It’s that time of year when we all avow to make improvements in our lives, so we make a lot of resolutions that will probably be forgotten by the end of February. One reason that this happens is because we make resolutions that we really don’t want to keep. We resolve to stick to a diet and lose a certain number of pounds. How much fun is that? Or we resolve to work harder and earn that promotion at work. I know I always look forward to putting in more hours, don’t you? Many times resolutions involve giving up the things that we love, but we know are bad for us, like smoking or drinking. These are all good changes to make in our lives, but how many of us really want to let go of our vices. It’s no wonder they are given up and forgotten about so soon.
I usually don’t make resolutions just for that reason, but this year, I’ve decided to make resolutions to do things that I really want to do. They all involve doing what I love to do, so seeing them through will be a pleasure. So, here are New Year’s resolutions for 2013 that I think I can keep:
• Find a writing or copy editing job that pays enough steady money to allow me to support my family, pay off our debts and finish our mountain home
• Sell at least one novel by the end of the year
• See Heather Hummingbird published, even though the publication was delayed from the original release date of last October
• Sell at least two children’s books by the end of the year
(You can help me reach my goals by contacting me if you know of a paying writing/editing job that might be a good fit for me.)

2 Comments on “Keeping My New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. nancyloswald says:

    Have a great New Year and I hope you reach all of your goals. Nancy

  2. Thanks Nancy. I am looking forward to a great writing year. 🙂


Leave a Reply

