“Wolves for the Holiday 1.1” has potential to be more

Wolves for the Holiday 1.1

Wolves for the Holiday 1.1, by Josette Reuel is a short story with the potential to be a longer supernatural romance. As with many short stories, it feels like there should be more. The ground work is laid for secondary characters to have relationships, providing plenty of subplot material that Reuel fails to take advantage of, and readers are left wanting more. This story has the potential to become a novel length work, if more fully developed.

When first three wolves, and then later, three naked men show up at a secluded mountain cabin, where three writer friends are taking a writer’s retreat, things promise to get a little weird. That’s where the problem lies, for three women in a secluded cabin just wouldn’t react the way these women do, so I had a hard time buying into the story. The premise is good. Actually, the premise is great, but Reuel fails to suspend my disbelief. 

Then there is the romance element, which is good, and almost believable. However, having our heroine submit to the Alpha male makes her appear weak, conforming to typical female stereotypes. The males are stereotyped as well, but I could buy that because they are wolves, after all.

After our two protagonists have their romp in the hay, there is no follow through. The story just ends, leaving the reader feeling cheated. Relationships with her friends and his pack members are alluded to, but not shown. We can only guess what was happening in the rest of the cabin while the main romance is blossoming in the bedroom. I will say the bedroom scene itself was done tastefully.

Wolves for the Holiday  1.1 has a great premise, but fails to deliver, doesn’t carry through the full romance arc, has a weak female protagonist, but does include a well written bedroom scene. I give it two quills.

Two Quills2

4 Comments on ““Wolves for the Holiday 1.1” has potential to be more”

  1. Thank you for reviewing this short story serial release. Just a few notes to help possible readers…
    1. This is labeled as a serial release. 1.2 Continues this story and I’m currently working on 1.3. This means that you won’t get a “complete story arc” in any of the individual releases — they end in cliffhangers.
    2. This was my first short story written for a fundraising anthology, it had a limit of 10K. I am not typically a “short story” type of author and write them only for fundraising anthologies for the most part. I have one short story that was written for my daughter. So, this being my first, I wrote it as a serial because it was the only way that I felt I could submit a 10K piece to the anthology.
    3. This release is written in a single point of view (POV), the heroine. In 1.2, you receive Ridge’s POV.
    4. This release is FREE at all retailers.
    Again, thank you for your review. I will definitely keep your feedback in mind as I work on 1.3.

    • Hello Ms. Reuel. It is wonderful to have an author actually weigh in on my review. Also, good to know there is more too this story, as it felt like there should be. I guess the feeling of being incomplete is a chance taken with most short stories. I do wish the story hadn’t been put out in installments, as you have a good premise and I would have liked to learn how the story turned out. Thank you for your clarification on these issues for my readers, and I do hope you will drop by again sometime.

  2. Tom Johnson says:

    I’ve seen some writers release the first chapter of a book free, hoping to catch the interest of a reader, and encourage them to buy the book. I haven’t heard if this is a good idea or not. I usually offer my short stories and novels free in PDF for reviews. That way the reader gets the full picture of the story. My first chapters are usually the set up, the meat coming later. I love writing short stories, but I make sure they are complete – beginning, middle, and end. I even prefer short stories to novels, in fact. They are easy and quick reads. I would be interested in hearing how the serial release turns out. Gosh, I’m telling my age here, but I remember those wonderful old Saturday Matinee cliffhangers (serials) at the local theaters in my youth, one chapter a week, for 15 weeks. I loved those things, and today own about 100 of them on VHS & DVD. But I don’t think they will work today. Movie goers (as readers) want the full movie (or story) in one setting. I think even soap operas are finding it hard to keep audiences today.

    • Thank you for your comment, Tom. I do think your right about the serials. If you are Stephen King you might be able to pull it off with “The Green Mile”, which he did. But, your run of the mill writer won’t be able to make it work, especially in this day and age, when the average attention span is lost so easily. Us old folks might hang in there for the next installment, but the younger generations, not so much. Even Stephen King put out the story in book form after he tried the installment version. What does that tell you?


Leave a Reply

